Author Topic: Some coins with 19th century collector's tags  (Read 191 times)

Offline Victor

• Administrator
  • all my best friends are dead Romans
    • Victor's Imperial Coins
Some coins with 19th century collector's tags
« on: September 19, 2024, 10:21:11 AM »
I am not really a provenance snob; but I do keep all the old tags with the coins. Here are coins that I have along with 19th century tags.

Maxentius
A.D. 309
Ӕ follis 23x26mm 6.5g
IMP C MAXENTIVS P F AVG; laureate head right.
AETERNITAS AVG N; Castor and Pollux standing facing each other, each leaning on sceptre with outer left arm and holding bridled horse, she-wolf with twins between them.
In ex. MOSTΓ
RIC VI Ostia 16

Some doubling on reverse

Ex. William C. Boyd (1840-1906) from Reverend Simpson on 16 Dec 1889

I imagine that this coin may have been a Christmas present from Reverend Simpson to William Boyd.

Boyd's collection was sold by Baldwin's in 2005; but this coin was in a group lot and not illustrated.

https://archive.org/details/auctionnumber42w00bald/page/3/mode/1up

Magnentius
A.D. 350-3
22x24mm 4.5g
DN MAGNEN-TIVS PF AVG; bare-headed, draped and cuirassed bust right; A behind bust.
VICTORIAE DD NN AVG ET CAES; two Victories holding wreath inscribed with VOT V MVLT X.
In ex. SPAR
RIC VIII Arles 167

ex- Daniel Turner

This Magnentius is from the collection of Daniel Turner (1794- 1850) who was a War of 1812 veteran. At the age of 14, Turner started his Navy career. In 1813, he was promoted to Lieutenant and joined Oliver Perry’s squadron and commanded the brig Caledonia in the Battle of Lake Erie. On September 10, 1813, Turner’s suppressive fire for Perry's flagship Lawrence was so impressive and effective, that he earned a Congressional medal and a sword from the State of New York. He eventually commanded the USS Constitution in 1839 and served in the Navy until his sudden death in 1850.

https://ussconstitutionmuseum.org/crew/daniel-turner/